Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2015 WK2 EcoDiesel
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

Fairly new 3.0L WK2 owner here that is interested in hashing out some future modifications.

First off, as far as performance mods go, it sounds like the GDE tune is a given. I fully plan on starting off with the hot tune, and possibly the transmission tune. It seems as if, cost aside, there isn't a single downside to going that route.

Now that that's out of the way: What other mods are worth the cost? I'm concerned mostly with longevity/economy over raw performance. Say, 80% longevity/economy to 20% "I WANNA GO FAST."

A couple of mods that I've been looking up:

Banks EGR delete intake manifold (for after I do the GDE digital delete)
AFE intake (unsure on this one, as CAI setups have seemed gimmicky in the past...I'm new to diesel engines though)
CB-Engineering pipes from the turbo back

Does anyone have real world experience with any of those? Are there any gains to reflect the cost (around $2k overall)? Also, are there any other suggestions for worthwhile modifications that I may have overlooked?

I imagine any of the above mods would void my warranty, however if they dramatically improve my engine's reliability/longevity (thus keeping me away from the dealership anyway), and/or moderately improve fuel economy, then it just may be worth it to me.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks all! :thumbsup:

·
Lifer: Old Geezer
Overland
4,628 Posts
Have you pinged Banks about both of your wishes?
A while back, they were involved in modding that engine for military use, so I'd strongly suspect they know a bit about meeting both of your desires.

·
Registered
Diesel Jetta
294 Posts
A while back, they were involved in modding that engine for military use, so I'd strongly suspect they know a bit about meeting both of your desires.
they were modding 3.0L ecodiesels for the mil?

·
Registered
98 Posts
Hey all!