Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
  1. Okay I am new to this page so I am hoping this is in the right discussion area. I have a Jeep wrangler Sport 2002. It shows it has no fuel on the dash and will not start, even though there is 3/4 of a tank at least. When I lean on the rear driver side fender it, engages and shows it has fuel and will allow you to start it as long as you are leaning on it. We have checked all the grounds and such, and it is at a mechanic shop. We replaced the computer due to the fact the scanner couldnt communicate with it. But that has fixed nothing. Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
Jeep G. Cherokee
1,583 Posts
Something electrical is wrong. When you lean on it, it must un-short whatever is wrong.

·
Registered
03 WJ, 4.Slow, 3" IRO
142 Posts
  1. Okay I am new to this page so I am hoping this is in the right discussion area. I have a Jeep wrangler Sport 2002. It shows it has no fuel on the dash and will not start, even though there is 3/4 of a tank at least. When I lean on the rear driver side fender it, engages and shows it has fuel and will allow you to start it as long as you are leaning on it. We have checked all the grounds and such, and it is at a mechanic shop. We replaced the computer due to the fact the scanner couldnt communicate with it. But that has fixed nothing. Thank you in advance.
On the 32 common problems on the WJ page item #2 answers your issue.

2. Problem:*Engine cranks but will not start. May have died while driving. Related symptoms: Fuel gauge shows 'empty', however the fuel tank is not empty. Volt gauge is all the way to the left (low), but the battery is not discharged.

Cause:*The CKP (crankshaft position) sensor is shorted internally. Turn the key off. Unplug the CKP sensor and retest for proper gauge operation.

Fix:*Replace the CKP sensor to correct.