Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a former liberty owner (2005 MY) currently evaluating a 2015 and a 2017 Summit. I am a female driver who is not mechanically inclined, so heavily weigh this forum’s expertise to inform my judgement.

Both of the Summits I am considering have the california package and sienna/black interior (my preference). Both are one-owner and both have low mileage (22K mi on 2015, 17K mi on 2017).

The primary reason I prefer jeeps is for frequent (long) trips to the outer banks for on-the-beach driving in deep sand. I had a 1995 land rover discovery that was the absolute best drive in those conditions...WHEN IT WAS DRIVE-ABLE...there is not enough bandwidth to recount the problems with that vehicle, but it had a locking differential that was useful in that sand.

The liberty is fine, but showing her age, so I am upgrading, hopefully to a more comfortable road trip (although I have not found either summit seats to be as comfortable as 2012/14 overland seats i drove in 2015).

So, the differences between these particular vehicles:

2015:
HEMI V8 has quadra-drive II 4wd, rear limited slip differential, anti-lock 4w disc heavy duty brakes, 3.09 rear axle ratio, which seems on its face better for deep dry sand conditions on the OBX
Impeccable interior
Vehicle on lot a little over a month
Can possibly get a MOPAR 5 yr extended warranty through another dealer for about $350 annually
ACC/FCW intermittently inoperable (wipe sensor screen msg)
*** it is at jeep dealer now *I printed the resolution (replace front radar sensor) found on this forum for the service techs, after reading that most customers are told the problem can’t be replicated or they re-aligned the sensor and the problem recurred**

2017:
V6 (without all the stuff listed in 1 above for 2015)—I don’t find the ride as smooth or quiet a ride as the HEMI, but some say 2017 V6 is more more reliable