Jeep Garage  - Jeep Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
I hope to get a job soon. I will likely live in/just outside of the city, but I love the outdoors and taking road trips to more "naturey" areas like National Parks and Forests. I consider an 8-10 hour drive acceptable for a long weekend or week-long vacation destination.
Would you recommend the Jeep Grand Cherokee? I have taken an interest to them because I like SUVs as opposed to cars, and I want something that can handle dirt roads, mud, snow, and potentially a bit of off road (to suit my outdoors hobby). However, I like the Grand Cherokee because it seems like a great outdoorsy vehicle, but also something i can use in the city/suburb. Also, i see them everywhere in my town, so they must be good?
What do you like about the JGC? Would you recommend it? Also, kinda a dumb question, but i am new to this... how would you go about buying one? New or used? I want one of the later models (2016 onwards probably).

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
My wife and I bought our first JGC to tow behind our RV for the reason it was easier to get in and out of than a Jeep Wrangler. If I were you I would look at a 2016 or newer JGC that's trail ready if you want it for driving off-road in the National Forests.
That's my suggestion also if you buy any Jeep buy a Club as added security to your vehicle. I can tell you exactly where my 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland is in Tijuana BC. The U-Connect has a great locator for your vehicle.

·
Registered
2014 Summit 5.7 4wd 20" tires swapped to 18", added all skid plates
1,622 Posts